Walking the line between nerd and cool.

TweetDeck: My Wish List

It seems like there hasn’t been enough “nerd” around these parts lately, so…

For the past week or so, I’ve been playing with TweetDeck, a Twitter (As an aside, if you aren’t sure what Twitter is, check out this great video that explains Twitter in Plain English) client available both for the desktop and for the iPhone. I’ve been using Twitteriffic for a while now, but I decided to give this a shot. I’ve always heard great things about it, but never got into it.

Overall, I like it. Some of my favorite features:

  • Organize those you follow into groups. Then you can swipe from side to side to switch groups. My current groups are “Usual Suspects” (people I read all the time), “Sports” (news and info about my favorite sports), and “The Others” (the people who don’t fit in groups one and two).
  • Groups are then synced between your desktop install and your phone. I don’t find it incredibly useful, except for setting up new groups, which is much faster on the desktop.
  • It looks clean and feels fast. Important in a Twitter client.
  • You can tweet to multiple accounts with a single post. Great for those times when you want to push information out on your own account and a group account (@JasonTheDCE and @FirstTrinity in my case).

Of course, as with anything, there are a few issues I’d like to see resolved:

  • Scroll down to the first unread tweet on the iPhone. The desktop client can clear all seen tweets, making it easy to find where you left off.
  • Sync the read/unread status for tweets between the desktop and iPhone. It’s a pain to “catch up” when I get to the office or go mobile.
  • Make hash tags clickable so they lead to a search for that hash tag.
4 responses

  1. sticksandheadbands

    I am a huge fan of Tweetie for iphone and desktop client, I have used hoot suite as well, it is web based(in browser), it tracks peoples clicks on your tweets and links, it also does groups but there is no iphone app for it. I like my ducks to be in a row and be consistent. I will post my blog with hoot suite(to see who is tracking with me) and use tweetie for everyday action. That’s how I roll.

    October 1, 2009 at 9:23 am

    • I’m finding that one of the most important “features” for me today is integration/synchronization across devices. Switching between home PC, work PC and iPhone constantly, I find myself blending aspects of my life together more and more.

      October 1, 2009 at 9:56 am

  2. I for one love (and missed) your “nerd” posts. I was starting to think I was going to have to find someone elses blog to read to get my tech fix.

    I used TwitterFox for desktop Twittering (an add-on for Firefox). I love it, makes Twittering very easy.

    Like the person above I also use Tweetie on my iPod. I love the crisp, easy to use interface.

    If I used the same desktop/iPod client, I agree that it would be nice to be able to sync read/unread Tweets between the two.

    October 1, 2009 at 12:00 pm

  3. Jaime

    hehe… you and Kristina are both nerds. 🙂

    October 2, 2009 at 8:17 am

Leave a Reply

