Walking the line between nerd and cool.

My New Startup Page

Ever since I started using Firefox and discovered the joys of tabbed browsing, I have had my browser start with multiple tabs open to my most commonly accessed websites.  For about three years, there were only two: Slashdot and ESPN. About two years ago, I added Google Reader to the mix for blog reading.

What pages make it to my startup screen is a delicate balance. Slashdot could be an RSS subscription in my Reader, but I found that it was easier to just scroll through the website for a couple minutes and pick out the articles I wanted to read. The same was true for ESPN.

Lately, Lifehacker has been high on my list of sites I read, but it too is starting to clog my Reader screen with too many posts. As a result, I’ve decided that after two years, it’s time to update my startup config for Firefox. The list, from left to right:

  • Slashdot
  • Lifehacker
  • Facebook
  • ESPN
  • Google Reader

The other notable addition is Facebook. I still hate their design for the most part, but it’s becoming a critical tool that if I don’t start with it open, I won’t make it to Facebook somedays, and there are too many youth there to forget a day.

What website(s) do you include in your startup screen?

One response

  1. I use Firefox too (because I have a Mac, and I hate Safari) I only have one tab for my startup screen. iGoogle. I have it setup to show my google reader box, my gmail box, local weather and Sabres news, and the latest medical and technology updates. Everything I really need all in one place. Love it!

    I like to keep things simple, so everything else I use regularly, like Facebook, WordPress, Canisius homepage, Twitter, Hulu, and KeyBank all go on my bookmark toolbar for easy access. But I don’t need them all to open when I sign on.

    August 20, 2009 at 1:45 pm

Leave a Reply

