Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Groan, Spirit, Groan!

Here’s a little preview of the sermon for you.  We’re looking at some of the things the Holy Spirit does in our lives.  I was struck anew by this verse while preparing:

26 Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. 27 And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God. (Romans 8:26-27)

It seems there’s been any number of times in my life where I just wasn’t sure what to pray for.  It’s in those times when it’s in my best interest to just be quiet before God and let the Spirit groan.

Because the Spirit knows what I need, and He speaks the Father’s language.  What could I possibly add?

Groan, Spirit, Groan!

4 responses

  1. aliciazim

    There have been times when the only thing I could do was pray in the Spirit (or in tongues) because I didn’t know what to pray for but I knew I was called to pray for *something/someone*. It’s an odd thing, but we have to trust that the Spirit knows what He’s doing through us and the prayers we don’t understand. Sometimes you even find out AFTER what the Spirit was praying through you. I did. It’s actually pretty cool, albeit weird.

    May 31, 2009 at 4:20 pm

  2. Tina H

    Very nice job with Sunday’s sermon…you will make a great pastor in the future. God Bless.

    June 1, 2009 at 6:28 pm

  3. Tim

    Perhaps some of the best advice I have heard in a long time and I guess I’ve never thought of the Spirit interceeding.

    June 2, 2009 at 10:05 am

  4. Pingback: Sermon Posted: The Helper « Intersections

Leave a Reply

