Walking the line between nerd and cool.

But We Had Hoped

I’m preaching this weekend for Pastor Chuck.  We’ll be looking at Jesus’ appearance to the two people on the road to Emmaus in Luke 24:13ff.  I’m working on the sermon right now and can’t get this verse out of my mind:

But we had hoped that he was the one to redeem Israel. (v. 21a)

I guess I’m struck by the fact that these people could spend so much time with Jesus and still not see Him for who He is.  It’s a reminder to me how important it is that we spend time regularly with Jesus, not just learning about Jesus.  As Pastor said this weekend in the sermon, it’s about following Jesus, not about following  a set of teachings.

Leave a Reply

