Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Improving Twitter Emails

Whenever someone follows you on Twitter, you can get an email message about it.  Here’s what you get:

Hi, Jason Christ (jasonthedce).

Sue Steege (sweetsoup) is now following your updates on Twitter.

Check out Sue Steege’s profile here:
http://twitter.com/sweetsoup

The problem is, lots of people will click to follow me that I don’t want following me.  Or I don’t know how in the world they found me.  Here’s what I’d like to see added to the emails:

  • How they found you. (Unknown, Clicked through @username, Twitter Search, etc.)
  • The last 5 tweets by the person who started following you.
  • A link to click to follow the person.
  • A link to block the person.
2 responses

  1. lisa

    you can block your tweets. then you have to accept your followers.

    March 26, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    • Yea, but I don’t want to do that because then people can’t see them without joining Twitter.

      I just don’t want to be part of some spammer’s network. I suppose it’s more important to guard who I follow, but I just don’t see a need for spammers to follow me, so I block them.

      There are a few strangers that follow me that seem like they are real people who found me somehow and I’m happy to let them keep following me.

      March 26, 2009 at 12:21 pm

Leave a Reply

