Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Television Fast

At rooted this past weekend, we looked at Philippians 4:4-9.  Here’s what it says:

4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. 5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

8 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. 9 What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

While talking about verses 6-7, we got into a conversation about prayer and worry.  One student challenged whether or not prayer really helps with anxiety.  The argument was that the project/homework you’re worrying about doesn’t go away when you pray, so you’re just losing that time to work on things.  How does that help?  I shared something Luther once wrote:

I have so much to do (today) that I should spend the first three hours in prayer.

I challenged this student to get up an hour earlier one day to pray and see what happens.

Then we got into verse eight.  It led to a side discussion about the things we fill our minds with.  The question was asked, “Is listening to Taylor Swift wrong?”  No. But it also isn’t best.  Something doesn’t have to be bad for it not to be the best thing for us.  The best would be to fill our mind with worship music that glorifies and praises God instead of secular music.

My struggle is less with music and more with television.  My “Best” would be not watching TV and spending that time reading the Word instead.  The same student from earlier offered to make a deal with me.  She’d wake up early three days this week to pray for an hour if I’d skip the television shows I normally watch and read my Bible instead.  (Except for American Idol, which was a trade-off for two days where she has an extra early start to the day) 

Sounds like a deal.

So this evening I skipped House and 24 and read 1 John all the way through and ready most of the study notes for the book.  Tomorrow I get to watch American Idol, but I miss Heroes on Netflix and The Mentalist.  Wednesday I skip Lost and Friday I skip Doll House

So far, I don’t have the shakes.  Just in case you were wondering… 🙂

9 responses

  1. Darcy F

    And do you get to catch up with 24 online?

    February 24, 2009 at 9:07 am

    • I’ll watch it on Hulu next week some time. Shows like Heroes, 24 and Lost are the hardest to miss, because I feel like there’s a continuing story that I’m missing if I don’t keep up with it. To be fair, I’ve not watched Lost on TV in quite some time, opting to view it through ABC.com instead because there are fewer commercials and I can watch when I want to.

      House/Doll House and other more episodic content is easy to watch on Hulu because I don’t feel like I’m waiting for a larger story to develop.

      This week also was an easier one than normal because Battlestar Galactica switched from appearing on Hulu the day after the broadcast to eight days later, so there was no new episode this week for me to watch.

      February 24, 2009 at 2:02 pm

  2. Jaime

    And after this week, instead of having a television fast, you’ll probably grab the remote and think, “Telivision!!! Fast!!!”

    February 24, 2009 at 9:19 am

  3. So, as I was going through my blog reader today, I read your post and thought it was a pretty cool challenge. Then I got to my daily Bible verse subscription and it’s Galatians 5:16-17. Look it up when you do your reading this week, it will encourage you.

    February 24, 2009 at 11:27 am

    • Great verse, thanks for sharing Stephanie! How are you guys liking Ohio?

      February 24, 2009 at 2:03 pm

      • It’s great so far – we’re loving living around the corner from everything we need. And the people have been wonderful. Thanks for asking. We’re at the same church as Bob Brantsch, I think you probably know him from the youth gathering stuff. Blessings to you and Jaime and Addison.

        February 25, 2009 at 10:25 am

  4. Tim

    A TV fast, WOW what a challenge. Have to think about that. Perhaps for me it would be FOX News or “the O’Reilly Factor”

    For me this Lent will involve physical, health related habits.

    February 25, 2009 at 8:35 am

  5. Pingback: Customer Service? « Inside Worship

Leave a Reply

