Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Technology In Our Life

George Barna release some interesting statistics today about the use of technology among age groups.  Here’s a summary of some of the things I found interesting:

Mainstream Technologies (Used by more than 50% of all computer users)

  • Boomers and Elders
    • Email
    • Search
  • Busters (25-41, I think)
  • Mosaics (18-24)
    • Email
    • Search
    • Text Messaging
    • Instant Messaging
    • Posting comments on other blogs
    • Watching videos online
    • Downloading music online

Emerging Technologies (Used by 20%-49% of all computer users)

  • Purchasing Online (22% Mosaics, 26% Busters, 29% Boomers, 24% Elders)
  • Spiritual Content Online (Mosaics/Busters/Boomers accessing church podcasts and websites, Elders not so much)

Check out the full article for some conclusions about the results and a nice colorful chart showing who uses the technologies surveyed.

One conclusion of my own: Posting comments can make you seem young like those crazy Mosaics.

8 responses

  1. Mom

    Hi Jason
    Interesting stuff. Thought I would post a comment to throw off the statistics. LOL Does this make me a crazy Mosaic?

    February 23, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    • It makes you young like a crazy Mosaic. 🙂

      February 23, 2009 at 11:05 pm

  2. Cathi

    All this time I thought I was a “Gen-Xer” and now I find out I’m a “Buster”! But seriously, I’m surprised that more busters aren’t listed for posting on blogs…I had recently read that this was the age group that was joining Facebook the fastest.

    February 23, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    • Maybe Facebook isn’t considered a “blog” in the traditional sense of one. It’s kind of an amalgamation of blogging, micro-blogging and social networking.

      I also prefer the title of Gen-Xer to Buster, btw.

      February 23, 2009 at 11:06 pm

  3. I think these are interesting statistics, I agree with Cathi on the FaceBook assumption. I’m a little distraught that I move from the “mosaic” grouping to the “buster” grouping this summer…makes me feel kinda old…guess this means no more YouTube after my birthday lol

    February 23, 2009 at 4:21 pm

  4. chuckwhited

    Interesting article. Effects the way we look at ministry.

    February 24, 2009 at 9:04 am

  5. I was just glad to stay out of the “boomer” category! 🙂 I am of the opinion that technology cannot and will not determine my age…but the “marketing” side of those statistics can be interesting. Not only effects how we look at ministry, Pastor, but also how we DO ministry. Especially in worship, which can have a strong technical component.

    For the record though, I would prefer to get back to 6-hour work days with pentiful vacations and summers off. The bonus of someone else doing the housework, cooking, and paying the bills. When you look at it that way, even the mosaics are old! 😀

    February 24, 2009 at 5:42 pm

Leave a Reply

