Walking the line between nerd and cool.

The Digital Business Card

I found an absurd deal on hosting for my own website.  It was such a steal, I couldn’t pass it up.  I got a 90% discount on 2 years of hosting, or 2 years for $20.  Not bad.  I’ve always considered getting a website, but what would I put there?  I decided on making it a digital business card.

Here’s what happens with business cards these days.  We pay money for them, then they go out of date because we move, change blog services, change emails, stop using this service and start using that one.  So instead, why not get business cards printed that point to your personal website and make it a digital business card.  Check out my digital business card, at JasonTheDCE.com.  It currently has six links out to various services that I use:

  • WordPress Blogging
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • PicasaWeb
  • YouTube
  • Email

Check it out and let me know what you think!

EDIT: I wrote this post without knowing about Church Crunch’s “Do Bloggers Need Business Cards” blog contest.  I’m making this my “entry” in the hopes of winning free cards.

11 responses

  1. Mucho coolio, however what if I just want to call or text you? If it’s supposed to be a replacement for a traditional business card then either the card or the website should have voice numbers on them, at least for the next few years!

    January 12, 2009 at 3:40 pm

  2. I’m pretty open online, but even I have problems giving out my cell number on a web page. I suppose I could make it a graphic so standard robots can’t download the number, but I’m still not sure I’d want just anyone having access to that. I suppose if I wanted to give out my number, I could just write that on the back of the card I give to people.

    January 12, 2009 at 4:15 pm

  3. Bruce

    Card is nice, I think tech. folks would like it best. Your sermon was great this week! I started reading a book by Phillp Yancy where he said that Jesus was like a Vulcan . With you being an expert on the subject would you agree? Later he changed his mind and said Jesus was to filled with compassion.
    During an interview with NPR (National Public Radio), Leonard Nimoy (“Mr. Spock”) told the story of the origins of the split-finger Vulcan hand sign often seen on Star Trek, and used by Trekkies.
    It happens that as a boy, Leonard would go to the temple (Jewish) with his father and when the elders would bring out the “Holy of Holies” he was told to cover his eyes by his father.

    One time he peeked between his fingers and saw those presiding over the congregation with their arms outstretched and their fingers split like the Vulcan hand sign.

    January 12, 2009 at 4:37 pm

  4. Bruce – I visited a Jewish temple for a class I took in college. I remember singing a picture (painting, I think) of a pair of hands making that sign. Have to ask Ilene what that means…

    Jason, what happens in two years when you change your d-card’s domain name ’cause the price increased by 90% and you still have 368 of the 500-run of business cards left? 🙂

    Checked out the sight and it looked cool. Not sure how practical it is though…

    January 12, 2009 at 6:13 pm

  5. I own JasonTheDCE.com and can take it to another hosting plan that’s more reasonable after the sale period is up. There are several places that offer hosting for $50/year with top-notch service. There are even some that offer it for as low as a buck a month. The buck a month club gets me enough space to host the website as it exists now, which is all I really need because I have access to free services for everything else I need (blogging, email, twitter, pictures, etc.). I can even get free web storage from places like SkyDrive on the Windows Live network. Upload any files you need to host and anyone (or only you, if you make a file private) can download it.

    January 12, 2009 at 7:45 pm

  6. Jason, guess it depends on what types of “business people” you will be giving your “business card” to. Just trying to emphasize that in the world of business, at least for now, a phone number is still a requirement on a business card. Otherwise I suppose it needs a new name, like “personal card” , or “contact card”…

    I also think you “new media” guys are funny. You make and publish web pages with lots and lots of personal info, including your kid’s first name, statistics and pictures but omigosh if someone actually finds out your phone number …. “OH NO!”. Let me slip into my rocking chair and take a nap, I’m sounding too old now…

    January 13, 2009 at 9:31 am

  7. @Joe: I guess it’s less like a traditional business card than I made it sound. It’s more like a personal card as you suggest. I would see something like this replacing a portfolio for prospective employers for as a tool for keeping up with friends and people I meet.

    Regarding the information that I put out there, sometimes it does seem contradictory. The truth is, I’m good with just about anything from life being online, just not my cell phone number and where I live beyond city/state. The cell phone thing is largely because of two reasons:

    1. I hate talking on the phone, so the fewer people who know I even have a number, the better. 🙂
    2. I pay for minutes on my phone and don’t want just anyone having access to it.

    If there were a way to share my text message address with the world without sharing my cell phone number, I’d probably do it. Texting may be too well entrenched to change that, however. Maybe one day we’ll be able to get cell phones with data and texting plans, but no voice. (Actually, a quick search suggests that might be possible, at least for deaf people. Maybe I can get in on that?)

    Block all voice calls to my cell phone and let texts through and I’d consider it. I suppose I could just ignore all voice calls, but then I’d have a pile of voice mails yelling at me all the time. 🙂

    January 13, 2009 at 10:40 am

  8. Tracy

    Interesting site and conversation here! There are lots of ways for people to get a hold of you via the tools you are showing. If someone did want to have an “old fashioned” phone conversation (I still think they are useful!) they could contact you and give you their phone number and say, “please call me.”

    January 13, 2009 at 11:34 am

  9. Pingback: The (Dying) Church Website « Intersections

  10. Michael Schutz

    Fantastic idea, Jason – I’m going to steal it and use the concept for myself. I’ve had the same wondering as you – I’ve own my name domain for a long while, but could never really figure out how to approach it. I’ve been using it as a digital sandbox to test stuff out, but that’s about it. I resurrected by personal blog, but that’s only one component of what’s possible. So this makes a whole lot of sense to me.

    Oh, and if your host ever does go nuts on you, let me know – do hosting for some orgs that I work with, and could hook you up if you ever needed.

    January 24, 2009 at 4:19 pm

  11. @Michael: Thanks for stopping by and glad you loved the idea! Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    January 24, 2009 at 9:29 pm

Leave a Reply

