Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Putting God First

I’m preaching this weekend for Pastor Chuck as he’s away in Haiti.  We’re continuing with our stewardship talks, this week focusing on putting God first in our lives.  It’s a tough order.  We’ll be looking at the first Commandment, “You shall have no other gods before me.” 

I like watching Battlestar Galactica(Jaime would tell you that’s all I ever watch, but I also watch Lost, House and 24, just to name a few, so that’s not entirely accurate.)  Now, any good space (or submarine/underwater) movie has to have the obligatory “we’re leaking!” moment.  You know how this goes.  The ship starts leaking air into space/water and someone has to solve the problem by closing a hatch.  And of course, there’s always someone on the other side of the hatch that will have to die, causing the hatch-closer to pause.  At this point, the Commander or other authority figure usually says something dramatic like “If you don’t close that hatch, we all die!  Do it!”  They close the hatch, watch the person die just seconds from escaping, then go about the business of saving the ship, all of which happens in about 20 minutes.

The first Commandment is a little bit like that hatch.  It’s the gateway to all other sins.  If we could do it 100% of the time, we’d be without sin.  Putting God first in our lives means we’d never struggle with idolatry, murder, lust, greed, gossip, coveting, envy or any other type of sin.  We’d be too busy focusing on Jesus to get into all that other trouble.  But how do we do it?

Well, you’ll have to tune in this weekend (or Tuesday for the online version) to find out.  🙂

6 responses

  1. Two comments…I love watching House, awesome show. One of these days it really is going to be lupus or amyloidosis….

    Second…by online do you mean it will be on podcast? I know you have been away the last few Sundays and didn’t record them. I’m sorta counting on you for the next four weeks though 🙂

    January 8, 2009 at 3:36 pm

  2. I still haven’t been able to update the iTunes listing, but the xml file address I gave you to subscribe manually should still be working. I just uploaded this weekend’s sermon today so you’ll be getting it soon. I do keep updating that file each week I have an audio file to post.

    January 8, 2009 at 3:41 pm

  3. Ya, I’ve been using the manual one, works fine. Just got todays. Was worried because it says it downloaded but I couldn’t find it in my list of podcasts. I had it sorted by date and it posted at the very bottom. It comes up 1/8/08 as a release date instead of 09 even though in the info tag it says 09. Confusing, but I found it! Thanks for doing this. Means a lot to me, especially now. I look forward to the sermons each weekend (shh don’t tell Pastor lol). It’s cool that even though I can’t come to church I can still hear them on iTunes. I love technology (most of the time)!!

    January 8, 2009 at 4:54 pm

  4. Carolyn Doster

    May God speak to you and inspire you as you write this week’s sermon…it already sounds good.

    By the way, this is only my second time reading, but since I was reading about the Haiti trip through Pastor’s & Sue’s blog, I decided – what the heck, I’ll give Jason’s a try! How is Addison and Jamie doing?

    January 9, 2009 at 6:41 am

  5. @Kristina: The date thing is wrong because I used a template and forgot to adjust the template for 2009. I’ll fix it and reupload, which may mean you’ll end up with another copy of the sermon. Just delete the first one you downloaded and it will go back to being in the right order.

    @Carolyn: Thanks for stopping by! Addison is doing very well. Here are all my Addison-related posts.

    January 9, 2009 at 12:01 pm

  6. Thanks Jason, I thought it was an iTunes issue 🙂

    January 10, 2009 at 8:26 pm

Leave a Reply

