Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Me, Myself and I AM

I had an opportunity a while back to review Wild Goose Chase here.  I signed up to do another review, this time of Me, Myself and I AM, by Matthew Peter and Elisa Stanford, published by Multnomah Books.  Read on for how to win a free copy of the book. Me Myself and I AM

The basic premise of the book is that you will examine the story of God in your life by reflecting on some questions.  The book is divided into a number of different sections, but it starts with a few questions about where you are now (physically, emotionally and spiritually) and ends with some reflections on the journey you took while working through the book.

Here are some of the questions you’d look at in the book:

  • I like myself most when:
  • I like myself least when:
  • This is how my Father influenced my relationship with God:
  • This is how my Mother influenced my relationship with God:
  • If I picture my spiritual life as a journey, I would describe my experience as:
  • My Creed: (yes / no / not sure for a number of different statements)
  • If I had the opportunity to invite any Bible character other that Jesus home for lunch, I would invite:
  • I would serve:
  • I hope we would talk about:
  • If I died today, my biggest relief that life on earth is done:
  • My most enduring regret:

Overall, the questions range from easy “check-offs” to really difficult to answer.  Some of them made me uncomfortable to read because it forced me to think of myself and my actions in a new light.  The book makes for a great introspection, but I wish it had come with a word of Grace for each section.  Some Bible verse that relates God’s grace and love in each section would help cleanse some of the guilt or hurts that you revisit in the questions.

Aside from being a journal, it would also work well as a discussion tool for a small group or family time. 

If you’re interested in picking up a copy, our good friends across the street at Life Resources would be happy to order one up for you.  If you don’t live around here, stop by your favorite big box book website and you’ll be able to get a copy yourself.  You can also win a free copy of the book right here on this very blog.  Here’s how:

Send an email to jasonthedce AT gmail DOT com with “Jesus Question” in the subject line.  In the body of the message, complete the sentence: “If I could ask Jesus one question when I get to heaven, it would be…”  I’ll put the best ones anonymously on an upcoming Feedback Friday and we’ll vote for our favorite.  The author of the winning question gets the book.

Leave a Reply

