Walking the line between nerd and cool.

The Right Glass

I have this issue at home where I need the right type of glass for what I want to drink.  I don’t like drinking milk from the glass mug, but water is fine.  Cider definitely belongs in the crystal looking glass.  I like my coffee mug to have a wider top than base.  Juice has to go in the short glasses.  Generally speaking, heavier glasses are better than light.  They just feel better in my hand.  Am I the only one who has trouble choosing what type of glass to use for drinks?

11 responses

  1. thedomesticfringe

    I think they have therapy for this! Just joking…I never drink the last sip out of ANY glass. I could use some therapy too.

    October 30, 2008 at 4:27 pm

  2. Thanks for stopping by! Maybe that girl from signs who leaves the cups of water everywhere can join us in therapy.

    October 30, 2008 at 5:58 pm

  3. Jaime

    And you haven’t even discussed your passion for dishwasher-organizing and cupboard organizing. 🙂 However, I’m sure not complaining…

    October 31, 2008 at 3:39 am

  4. chuckwhited

    I have similar habits. I don’t drink iced tea out of a straw, but I will coke. I don’t like little glasses, what’s the point? And if it is a cold drink, give me ice!

    October 31, 2008 at 10:10 am

  5. Alicia Z

    I’ve also heard that you aren’t supposed to drink pop out of the same glass that you’ve had milk in (even after washing it) or visa versa. I can’t remember why. Just one more thing for obsessive compulsive people to have to worry about!

    October 31, 2008 at 10:32 am

  6. Jaime

    In response to Chuck’s comment… seriously, our short glasses hold about the same as our medium-sized tall glasses. I’ve tested it.

    Alicia, that’s hilarious! I’ve heard that’s true with teapots and coffee pots (never the two should mix), but I hadn’t heard that about glasses.

    October 31, 2008 at 12:17 pm

  7. Puzzler15

    I drink everything out of short “on the rocks” glasses. I like the wider rim. The tall ice tea glasses are too narrow and hit your nose when you get to the bottom. And the juice glasses are the best for taking pills.
    I always gave the kids their liquid medicine in a shot glass. Think that added to Jason’s glass issue?

    October 31, 2008 at 12:30 pm

  8. Tracy

    Jason – you have issues (sounds like Pastor Chuck does too!). I can’t wait to hear about how the dishwasher should be loaded and the cupboards. I have never heard the pop & milk one from Alicia and my grandma was like the queen of old wives tales.

    October 31, 2008 at 6:06 pm

  9. Are you calling Alicia an “old wife”? Man, I’d watch it if I were you…

    As for loading the dishwasher, it’s just that I can fit 2x as much stuff in there as Jaime can. It’s a Zeitz family gene, passed directly from my mom to me.

    October 31, 2008 at 6:13 pm

  10. Jaime

    It is true that he can fit twice as much into the dishwasher. But he also doesn’t let me load or unload it because I “do it wrong.”

    Not that I’m complaining. If I don’t have the genes for menial housework, I can accept that limitation in myself.

    November 1, 2008 at 8:07 am

  11. Darcy F

    I’ve heard the glass thing about wine and milk – like
    NEVER drink milk out of a wine glass, it will do something to the wine or the glass or something…

    And I am raising a dishwasher organizer. When it was his job to unload the dishwasher, he requested we put the utensils in each compartment according to what they were, so putting away would be easier. Jason may need to “let go” a little when it comes time for Addison to do chores. Or maybe not, she will be the first born. Maybe it is the next child he will have issues with?

    November 1, 2008 at 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

