Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Student Ministries Flier

Kathy Figini asked me to come up with a flier to send to people who ask for more information about Student Ministries here at First Trinity.  Here’s the first draft:

Student Ministries Flier

If you have any suggestions, let me know.  They would get this with a copy of our current ministry schedule and possibly a cover letter.

Update: Based on discussion in the comments, here’s a 2nd version with Cornerstone sub-theming that keeps the same basic design.

The challenge with this one is the lines of the Cornerstone Emblem don’t match the curves of the “&” sign.  It’s also not immediately recognizable for anything, unlike the Compass in the first design that people would recognize as a circle with a cross in the middle, despite not being able to see the full image.

10 responses

  1. Darcy F

    Isn’t student ministry Middle school too? Maybe on the “flip side”?

    October 22, 2008 at 7:03 pm

  2. I’m thinking a simple flier that is the essence of both Cornerstone and Crossroads. The included schedule would explain the grades/ministry for each. I chose the compass over the Cornerstone emblem because it worked better with the space. The Crossroads verse makes for a better stand-alone verse than the Cornerstone one. It more clearly reflects the Rooted (ask for the ancient paths) and Relevant (walk in it, and you will find rest).

    I deliberately chose not to highlight the word “crossroads” in the verse and branded it “First Trinity Student Ministries” rather than the individual names because this is geared for people who check boxes wanting more information on the guest cards at worship. The simpler the better in this first stage. I think.

    I’m not completely decided against 2 fliers yet, though.

    October 22, 2008 at 10:22 pm

  3. Tracy

    The picture is of Crossroads kids only and their shirts say “Crossroads.” Is a 2nd picture possible of Cornerstone kids? I like the 2 sided idea.

    October 23, 2008 at 5:03 pm

  4. A person unfamiliar with our church isn’t going to know any better when they get the flier. It’s just basic information. They would learn the nuances/differences once they start coming to stuff.

    In the interest of fairness, tho, I created a 2nd version that would be the “Cornerstone” sub-themed version. I don’t like it as much because of the linear nature of the Cornerstone emblem vs. the round nature of the Crossroads one. I’ve edited the original post with the 2nd pic as well.

    October 23, 2008 at 5:30 pm

  5. Pam S

    I love the Crossroads picture. In fact I’d like to get a copy of it. Was this a “fake fun” shot? I think the idea of a flier is a great idea…

    If I’m a kid, looking at the fliers, the Crossroads picture just looks fun. I think it’s a great shot and makes the group look like they have a good time together. I’m wondering what boys might think if they’re looking at the Cornerstone picture? Either Jon is one lucky dude or this group is mostly about girls. I don’t think the Cornerstone shot has as much kid appeal as the Crossroads one.

    What about a collage of several photos? Just a thought.

    October 23, 2008 at 7:17 pm

  6. Pingback: More Designing Goodness « Intersections

  7. Eric F

    Just to clarify – I do like the orginal a lot. I agree that the picture is fun and the colors with the shirts are bright and awesome. I think it would be fun to do some intentional pics of the Cornerstone kids, in their shirts, naybe with a white background? I know that would take some arranging, but as fun as the Sawmill pic is, I agree it is a little flat in comparison.

    October 25, 2008 at 3:19 pm

  8. Darcy F

    HAHA! That wasn’t really Eric. That was Darcy on Eric’s PC!

    October 25, 2008 at 3:20 pm

  9. I thought it was funny that Eric was “clarifying” when he never said anything to start. 🙂

    @Pam: It was a fake fun shot and Jon is a lucky dude. 🙂

    October 25, 2008 at 6:04 pm

  10. Phil

    Fake Fun! So hot right now….

    October 28, 2008 at 1:52 pm

Leave a Reply

