Walking the line between nerd and cool.

30 Things You Might Not Know About Me

First, my sister tagged me.  Then Kristina did.  Is this the next iteration of email forwards?  Blog forwards perhaps?  I sure hope not.  I’m not following the rules of the tag game, because I hate the idea.  So here’s my list of things you may or may not know about me, in no particular order:

  1. I hate email forwards.  FWD: in an email subject/body is a good way to get yourself ignored in my inbox.
  2. I like to clean the kitchen.
  3. I wrestled in Middle-School and High School.
  4. I wasn’t very good.
  5. I also played: Football, Swimming, Track (sprints) and Field (pole-vaulting).
  6. I played football in college, but only for 1 game.
  7. I went 4 years without making a basket for the 2nd Lindy (my college dorm flor) intra-mural basketball team.
  8. I played Soccer outside of school.  I even played in 2 tournaments in England.
  9. I had 1 friend in High School.  I met 1 other guy in High School who I became friends with after High School.
  10. I talk to our cats.
  11. I laugh at my own jokes.
  12. I like graphic design, though I’m mostly a “good hack”.  That means I can reproduce designs that I see and tweak them, but I’m not great at coming up with my own really cool look.  Sue says I’m more than that.
  13. I worry about whether or not I’ll be a good dad.
  14. I took 5 years of Spanish in Middle/High School
  15. I don’t remember much of it.
  16. My first mission trip was to Mexico.  It was 3 weeks after starting my DCE Internship.
  17. I’d like to write a book someday.
  18. My family has a rustic cabin in Tiona, PA.  I don’t get to go there much anymore.  I went a lot as a kid.
  19. I like technology, especially gadgets.
  20. I like computer and console gaming.  I’ve owned: Intellivision, Commodore 64, several PCs, a PS2 and a Wii.
  21. I like playing cards, especially Euchre, Pinochle and Hearts.
  22. I lifeguarded in High School/College.
  23. I coached the swim team at our city pool.
  24. I taught swimming lessons for 5+ years.
  25. I first went “online” circa 1992 at “The Time Vault” BBS.  It was nothing like the internet of today, but it was pretty fun.
  26. I watched the last episode of the Johnny Carson show while chatting with Jim Barry, the owner (we called them SysOps) of the Time Vault BBS.
  27. I also frequented the Cleveland Freenet.  My User ID was bv571 (I think).  atteSmythe was be975.  We sometimes logged in as ted5, a college student at Case Western Reserve University.
  28. I used to meet the people from Freenet at area Metroparks for picnics. 
  29. I served as Secretary of our school government association.  I didn’t care for it.
  30. I learned guitar in college because I (wrongly) thought DCEs had to know how to lead singing time with a guitar to be effective.
8 responses

  1. sweetsoup

    Two things:
    1. How does one “play swimming”?
    2. I sort of sense that your worry about what kind of dad you’ll be. For what it’s worth: I’m not worried at all!

    October 6, 2008 at 4:09 pm

  2. I was being lazy with the verb structure of the additional sports line. 🙂 But you “play” by swimming back and forth in a pool.

    October 6, 2008 at 4:13 pm

  3. Judi

    Yay!! Thanks for playing (well sort of). and even I learned a few things about my big brother! I also agree with Sue…you’re going to make an amazing dad!

    October 6, 2008 at 9:28 pm

  4. Kathy

    You LIKE to clean the kitchen? The workroom kitchen needs help every day. We like to keep you happy so it can be your new assignment. Okie dokie?

    October 6, 2008 at 10:12 pm

  5. Anne Miller

    WOW !! Almost TMI but fun to read ! I think my kitchen is calling your name. By the way, not to worry, you’ll be an awesome dad.

    October 7, 2008 at 10:36 am

  6. Tim

    Euchre, Pinocle and Hearts – my games! Dadding will be great!

    October 7, 2008 at 11:34 am

  7. chuckwhited

    No worries about being a dad. I am shocked you like technology. I didn’t know that.

    October 7, 2008 at 6:37 pm

  8. I’m glad I tagged you, I learned so many new things about you! BTW, like I told Pastor, I only tagged you because, 1. Jaime started it and I don’t like to not follow rules and was really bored, and 2. I don’t know any one else with blogs accept for my few WordPress friends 🙂

    PS I agree with everyone else here, you are going to be a great dad. And I don’t even know you that well, but I just have this feeling you’ll do great 😉

    October 7, 2008 at 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

