Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Rabbit Ears for the Win Please, Alex

You may remember I don’t have Cable TV.  Turns out that’s a good thing.  WIVB and Time Warner are fighting about carrying channel 4 on Cable.  The result is that Time Warner dropped CBS from the lineup today.  I’m by no means an expert here, but this seems to be the situation:

  • Cable companies have to carry local channels as part of the “must carry” law.
  • The catch seems to be that the local channels can’t charge cable carriers for their channel.
  • WIVB wants Time Warner to pay for the channel, refusing to supply the content for free as part of that “must carry” law.
  • Time Warner must then either pay for the channel or drop it from the lineup.  They chose to drop it.

The result of this battle is that you can’t watch CBS here in Buffalo if you have Time Warner Cable.  CBS just so happens to be the network that carries most of the Bills games.  That means you may not be able to see the game this weekend unless you go out and get yourself some old-fashioned rabbit ears

I guess, as Jim told Sue, I’m ahead of the curve as I already have a rabbit ears setup.  Yay me!

6 responses

  1. Alicia Z

    I guess I’m ahead of that game too! I have several TVs that do not have cable but instead have an antenna. Since those TVs are the same ones that have to have the new DTV boxes, and we did get those, and now the TVs get WAY BETTER reception than they ever got with just “rabbit ears!”

    October 3, 2008 at 3:33 pm

  2. Debbie C.

    I think rooted should be at your house this week so I can stay afterwards and watch the second half of the game. We have cable and no rabbit ears… yet! : – )

    October 3, 2008 at 9:33 pm

  3. Kathy

    I think there should be a football watching party at Jason and Jaime’s house on Sunday. Pastor can announce it at all the services this weekend!

    October 3, 2008 at 10:08 pm

  4. Tim

    I’m in Muncie, ID and only got “updateds” during the Dallas game, so I feel sorry for all you “rabbit ears” folks. I suspect that the defense stayed home and I was so sorry to hear about Trent. That guy hit him awfully hard. Good that the “by” week is next. See you in Atlanta

    October 5, 2008 at 9:38 pm

  5. Hey! You can’t pat yourself on the back for being too cheap to subscribe to cable! Just a lucky break, right? 😉

    October 6, 2008 at 8:13 am

  6. Tim: I’m wishing I didn’t have the rabbit ears after seeing the 2nd half of the game.

    Joe: I prefer to think of it as betting on the huge underdog. Sure, 999 out of 1,000 times, I’ll lose the bet. But I look like a genius if they win. 🙂

    October 6, 2008 at 9:38 am

Leave a Reply

