Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Football as I See (or Hear) it: Week 2

Some of my thoughts from Week 2 of the NFL Season:

  • Bills looked great on the first drive of the game.
  • Great food at the Morris household where I watched the first quarter of the game before jetting to Cleveland.  Thanks!
  • There are a ton of sponsors for games on the radio.
  • I hate driving 55 MPH through Erie, PA.  What’s up with that?
  • Lost the Bills game just after Hardy scored his touchdown.  Counting on ESPN Radio for updates now.
  • Arrived downtown for dinner before the Browns game at 5:40 PM.  Lots of Steelers fans walking around.
  • Ordered the Filet Mignon at the Chophouse. 
  • “Your food will be up in 2 minutes” is a lie.  Unless the waiter meant the length of time it takes to play the last 2 minutes of a game.
  • The food was Yummy!
  • While walking to the game, we game a full, untouched meal from the Chophouse to a homeless person.  Fun!
  • Browns’ defense looks OK, offense looks horrible.
  • Torrential rains at the game.  Glad we’re under the upper deck enough to stay dry.
  • Browns kick a field goal with 3:40 to play, making it 10-6.  Stupid call.  Go for a touchdown!
  • Browns lose, we take the “Walk of Shame” to the parking lot and head home. 
  • 30 minutes later, I’m home and getting ready to go to bed.
5 responses

  1. sweetsoup

    I thought I would love this post because I love football, I love filet mignon and I love it when the Browns lose. Turns out I love the post because you gave a beautiful meal to a homeless person. What was the story on that one?

    September 17, 2008 at 9:37 am

  2. Martha

    55 in Erie? LOL Even the locals don’t do that! I can coach you on that — but not in print.

    September 17, 2008 at 9:46 am

  3. Our cousin Freddy and his wife Carla met us at the Chophouse for dinner and then were coming to the game. They ordered a single entrée to spit, but before the food had come out she was feeling really sick so they left. Freddy was going to drop her off at home and then meet us at the game and told us to bring his dinner with us to the stadium. We weren’t sure they’d let us in with it, so we gave it to the homeless guy instead.

    September 17, 2008 at 9:54 am

  4. sweetsoup

    Hey–Martha! You never post on MY blog!!! I’ll have to see if I can work Erie into the conversation and maybe then we’ll coax you out of the shadows!! 🙂

    September 17, 2008 at 1:41 pm

  5. Pingback: Football as I See It: Week 4 « Intersections

Leave a Reply

