Walking the line between nerd and cool.

The Unexpected

I loved John McCain’s VP pick, mostly because it was so unexpected.  Obama picked exactly who I thought he would (older, experienced, male statesman).  But few saw this coming, which led to all kinds of excitement among the GOP base and other voters.  I’m not one to sit and watch Fox News or CNN for hours (largely because I don’t have access to it unless I’m here at my Mom’s house), but I couldn’t help myself last night as I wanted to find out about Palin.  I didn’t see this coming, so I couldn’t help but spend time reading about it and listening to people talk about it.  (Ironically, I find myself wondering if it’s too late to pull the ol’ switcheroo and make Sarah Palin the presidential nominee.)

But politics aside, I wonder if God’s people ever felt this way.  God specializes in doing the unexpected, from floating axe heads to stopping the sun to countless others.  Did the people rush to hear the news of what God had done?  Was it so amazing that people couldn’t stop talking about it?  I imagine it was.  Do we have the same reaction to God’s Word?

3 responses

  1. ericwfesmire

    Yeah…I was surprised by that too. I had been kind of dreading the election ’cause I really wasn’t sure there was a good choice. I’m still researching…but picking Palin as the running mate certainly breated some fresh air into the race. Even if it’s just to get people scambling.

    I’ve been surprise by God’s word…but I’d kind of like it to happen more often! There are many times in life when we need to have a breath of fresh air breathed into the normal routine. Been praying for that for a few years, as a matter of fact! Looking forward to the surprises that God has in store for us.

    August 30, 2008 at 10:16 am

  2. Wow – after this weekend’s news I wonder if JM got more surprise than maybe he was bargaining for? Definitely a different candidate, and “exciting”, that’s for sure.

    September 2, 2008 at 10:05 am

  3. Tim

    I was blown away by the selection. I think she fills in a lot of the “blanks” in the McCain candidacy. They can scrutinize her public record, but family is/should be off limits. Even Susan Estrich was outraged at the way the press/blogs wwere trating Sarah Palin! Now that is something.

    This is going to be a fantastic election.

    September 3, 2008 at 9:58 am

Leave a Reply

