Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Cut Off Your Nose to Spite Your Face

Seth has an article up that could have been written about my most recent experience with US Airways.  If I have my way, I’ll never fly them again.  Here’s my experience with them:

  • Pop and Water cost $2.  You get a can of pop or a bottle of water for that price.
  • Coffee was $1.
  • The seat-back trays had ads on them.
  • The gate agent was trumpeting that you had to pay for a meal “right now” if you want to receive a meal on the flight.  I’m ok with charging for a meal, but she sounded really mean and angry making the announcement.
  • The pilot invited us to fill out a US Air credit card application to receive free bonus miles.  See your flight attendant for help filling that out.

When someone next to me starting arguing with the flight attendant about the price of water, she told him that soaring gas prices are the cause.  “If we don’t do something, there won’t be a US Air soon.”  Maybe that’s not all bad.  So not only did I not buy one of their drinks, I also was turned off to buying from them in the future.  Not good marketing.

5 responses

  1. Southwest! If they don’t fly there I don’t go. I’ve even flown Southwest to a city near where I needed to be, and rented a car to get the rest of the way. I’m not sure why the rest of the airlines can’t copy them. They must have marketing departments who talk to people like me and Jason, don’t you think? So much for knowing your competition.

    Altho I must admit I have not flown since the gas price crisis started, so maybe SW has its own issues.

    August 12, 2008 at 8:31 am

  2. After posting about this, I also found Peter King, the Sports Illustrated writer that I follow, also had issues with US Air. (It’s at the bottom of the page)

    I would normally fly Southwest as well, but I had the Youth Ministry Office book my flight for the trip. Next time I guess I’ll be doing it so this doesn’t happen. As for why they can’t mimic SWA, I’ll bet it has something to do with the unions.

    August 12, 2008 at 10:49 am

  3. Tim

    Usless Air. Thay may in fact go the way of the old Slowhawk airlines. and yes, it probably has to do with union issues. SWA seems to be ahead of the curve on most issues.

    August 12, 2008 at 11:09 am

  4. charlie

    unions have nothing to do with usairways problems, southwest is the most unionized airline in the world and PAYS THE HIGHEST WAGES IN THE AIRLINE WORLD. the problem is management that is married to old business models, they promote the wrong people within for management and didnt have the forsight to hedge fuel, and that go so for the other major carriers, old managers and ceo s and vps filling their pockets and running to other airlines– they are the airline mafia and they are untouchable

    September 10, 2008 at 1:02 am

  5. Interesting, thanks for stopping by Charlie!

    September 10, 2008 at 9:19 am

Leave a Reply

