Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Grabbing the Lion’s Mane

I was looking forward to the NYG planning trip to Orlando because it was an opportunity to finish reading In a Pit With a Lion on a Snowy Day.  I’ll write more on the book again later, but I continue to enjoy reading it.  There were a number of God-moments on the trip today, directly related to reading the book.  Here are some passages that are relevant to the story of today:

  • God is in the business of making sure we cross paths with the right people at the right time.  The Holy Spirit can open doors that seem to be dead bolted shut.
  • [Lion Chasers’] modus operandi is seizing God-ordained opportunities.
  • Opportunities typically present themselves at the most inopportune time in the most inopportune place.
  • If you want to see and seize God-ordained opportunities, you’ve got to live in prayer mode.

Now for the story of today… I don’t really enjoy flying long distances for these trips.  Travel days are long, tiring and generally make my crabby with long lines and poor airlines (more on that another day!).  While I generally love being around people, flying makes me crawl into a shell and do everything I can not to talk to people around me.  I want to sit, read my book and arrive on time.

So I’m reading the chapter that contained the above statements from Mark.  I prayed that God would reveal some opportunities to me on this trip.  I starting chatting with the two ladies next to me about random stuff.  Nice people, but it didn’t seem to go anywhere and I didn’t see any opportunities.  When we land, we’re stuck on the tarmac waiting to get to the gate for like 15 minutes.  A lady behind me says, “I couldn’t help but overhear that you work at a church.  I have a great fundraiser idea for you.”

You can imagine, I wasn’t thrilled about the topic.  I also don’t like fundraisers, but I remembered to look for and seize opportunities so we chatted a bit about it.  She’s going to send me more information about it, which we probably won’t do because it involves selling stuff, but it was great to connect with her.  Next I ask the guy across the aisle from me if he works for the Greg Oliver Agency because I noticed it on his jacket.  GOA is a Christian music booking agent that handles Mark Schultz.  I worked with them in Texas for a youth gathering that Mark sang at.

He doesn’t work for them, but they handle his booking.  I quickly make the connection that he must have been in Buffalo for Kingdom Bound and we start chatting about that.  It turns out he’s the drummer for Big Daddy Weave, a band I enjoy.  An interesting connection, considering I’m going to a planning session for a big youth gathering that might want to bring in a band like them.

My next leg of the flight put me in a seat next David, an employee at EventTech, a company that does production work for events about the size of the gathering.  It just so happens, I’m still on my way to a planning meeting for a gathering that could use his services.  Huh. 

Then I’m flipping through a copy of Rev! magazine that pastor let me borrow for the trip.  Page 153 has an article titled “Getting Real with Why-Fi Preaching.”  Ok, I’ll bite.  It’s about a pastor who wasn’t sure his congregation was receiving the same thing he was sending in the sermon based on a conversation with someone who took the exact opposite point he was trying to make in the sermon that day.  His solution?  Period “Why-Fi” Sundays.  He preaches for 20 minutes and puts a cell phone number and email address on the screen while he’s doing it so you can text/email questions about the sermon.  Then he stops preaching, joins a panel of 2-3 others and a staffer reads the questions and the panel responds and clarifies.

I hear that students like texting and don’t always hear the same thing we try to teach them.  I also hear that there are a few “open” days on the Sunday School calendar for 2008-2009 that need to be filled.  If only students had cell phones so they could participate in something like this.

I may be slow to notice things sometimes, but I’m not completely dumb.  It’s almost like God knew I would be praying to be open to seeing and seizing opportunities on this trip and set things up ahead of time to answer that prayer.  I wonder what today has in store for me.  (You might just find out, if you read my Twitter while I’m in the Big Easy…)

3 responses

  1. sweetsoup

    Cool stuff, Jason. Good for you for being open to “another way” to travel. I admire it!

    August 8, 2008 at 7:44 am

  2. chuckwhited

    Interesting because I am speaking this weekend on seeing and seizing the opportunities God puts before us. Hmmmm

    August 8, 2008 at 11:38 am

  3. Tracy

    Thanks for the God sightings. It always helps me be more aware of them in my own life when I hear stories from others.

    August 8, 2008 at 5:05 pm

Leave a Reply

