Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Fraud Prevention

My church credit card got locked for suspected fraud about a week ago.  It was because we bought a bunch of gas on the way home from the mission trip, so it came us as suspicious activity.  It’s always an inconvenience to have to fix it when I get home, but I’m thankful they are aware of the problem.

So I called today finally to get my card activated again.  Here’s how the conversation went:

Me: Yes, I need to get my card unlocked.

Them: Ok, great.  What’s the card number please?

Me: (Give them my card number)

Them: And your name?

Me: Jason Christ

Them: Great.  I just need to verify some purchases.  Did you make a purchase at Wegman’s?

Me: Yes.

Them: How about Noco?

Me: Yes.

Them: Flying J?

Me: Yes.

Them: Great.  We’ve unlocked your card.

Me: Thanks.

The scary thing here is that I only gave them information found on the credit card itself or answered “yes” to the purchases they questioned me about.  I didn’t have to verify any personal information to prove I was really the card-holder.  I could have been a thief who had the card get locked, then call and get it activated again.  Crazy.

4 responses

  1. Debbie C.

    If you were doing more hypermiling you wouldn’t have needed to purchase so much gas… ?! : – )

    August 5, 2008 at 1:54 pm

  2. Lol. True enough. 🙂

    August 5, 2008 at 1:55 pm

  3. chuckwhited

    Good one Debbie! Sounds like I could use that card. Hmmm – Jason, tell me again where we keep it.

    August 6, 2008 at 8:58 am

  4. Darcy F

    You are blessed that was all that caused it. There was a major identity theft bust this week.

    August 6, 2008 at 10:28 am

Leave a Reply

