Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Home at Last

After 9 hours in the vans, we made it home around 7:30 p.m. last night.  It was a fun welcome home with everyone standing outside waving, cheering and smiling.  The signs that Pam brought were a nice touch too.  I’m thankful for these opportunities to minister to and with our youth, but I’m also thankful to be home.  Some of the things I’ve missed while I was gone:

  • Jaime.
  • Good coffee.  I went without for the week at Workcamp because it tasted so awful there.  Sippin’ on some brew from Ebenezer’s right now.
  • My bed.
  • No lines for the bathroom. 
  • My kitties.
  • Time with no one talking.
  • Sitting and relaxing with no schedule for the day.
  • First Trinity.  I’ve now missed 4 consecutive Sundays at FT because of vacation and Workcamp.  I’m ready to be back at worship with my faith family this coming weekend!
8 responses

  1. Chuck Whited

    You really missed your “kitties.” Even though I didn’t make the list of “Missed things,” I certainly missed you around here.

    July 28, 2008 at 12:27 pm

  2. Carolyn Doster

    Hey Jason,
    I’ll send you my remaining photos through the Kodak website. Where can I access the photos I already gave you at Work Camp?

    I too am enjoying the things you mentioned – although I have a dog – and a HOT shower!

    Enjoy the day,
    Carolyn

    July 28, 2008 at 1:12 pm

  3. Debbie C.

    Welcome back! So glad to have ALL of you back safely!

    We hooked up the digital camera to our TV last night and relived the workcamp experience from beginning to end! Megan had SO much to tell us… it was a GREAT,GREAT experience for her! (and I’m pretty sure she has more to tell us!) The thing she missed most? a private, hot shower. She enjoyed that this morning… after a 12+ hour night’s sleep! 🙂 Looking forward to hearing more of the kid’s stories of loving out loud in Piqua.

    July 28, 2008 at 2:56 pm

  4. @Chuck: Awww… Shucks…

    @Carolyn: I’ll burn a CD of the originals for you.

    @Debbie: Yea, showers should have made my list too.

    July 28, 2008 at 3:34 pm

  5. Jaime

    🙂 🙂 Jason — I am happy to be number one on your list of missed things!

    Pastor — you have no idea how much these cats love Jason. They get so obnoxiously needy when he’s not around. They like me well enough, but Jason is like their Lion King or something. It’s crazy.

    July 28, 2008 at 10:07 pm

  6. Tim

    It’s a nice list of things missed. Priority is right! I guess I didn’t make the cut. I’ll have to work on that.

    July 29, 2008 at 10:37 am

  7. Welcome back! I think Alicia slept 18 hours over the last 30 or so…

    And I think Josh is still in the shower!!

    Can I please get a CD of pics for the website?

    thanks

    July 29, 2008 at 10:42 am

  8. Pics are on their way via CD. I’ll also be posting more pics to the blog tomorrow.

    July 29, 2008 at 7:17 pm

Leave a Reply

