Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Detour Through D.C.

The first day of our Outer Banks Beach Vacation is underway.  The day started off a little rough as we got rolling around 9:15 a.m.  That would have been fine, but we were up until around 1:30 a.m. cleaning up from Judi’s Wedding.  I was a little grumpy about getting up and rushing out the door, but I got over it once I got some Starbuck’s in me.

Around 5 p.m., we pulled into the Washington D.C. area.  My brother-in-law Justin and Mother-in-Law (known as MomH around these parts) were game for a little detour through the city.  Our destination?

Ebenezer’s Coffee House

Ebenezer’s is a coffee house operated by National Community Church near the capitol building in Washington, D.C.  I first heard about it from Mark Batterson’s blog and thought it would be fun to go.  This seemed like the perfect opportunity to do it.  Mom C came through with the address, Daniel (on loan from Pastor Chuck) came through with the directions.

I figured it would be years before I got to go there.  It was fun to stop in and see the place.  I had an Iced Black and White, a mocha with half white chocolate, half dark.  Yummy!  I also picked up a copy of In a Pit With A Lion on a Snowy Day.  I’m looking forward to reading it on the beach this week.

Leave a Reply

