Walking the line between nerd and cool.

In Case of Rapture, This Blog Will Be Unmanned

Have you seen that bumper sticker?  It’s actually about their car, but you get the idea.  I think Christians look weird when they use cute little phrases like that one on bumper stickers or T-shirts.  And now we’ve just become even weirder.  As proof, I give you: You’ve Been Left Behind.

For $40/year, they’ll allow you to host some files and prepare up to 62 emails that will be sent to your friends 6 days after the rapture occurs.  Seriously.  Even if I believed the rapture to be true, is this even a good idea?  Don’t you think it would be better to talk to those people, you know, before it happens?  And unless the email I receive as a non-raptured person explains why you didn’t bother to tell me about this stuff before it happened, I’m not sure I’d care what you have to say.

As Lutherans, we don’t believe the rapture will occur.  I understand why people think that it will, I just don’t think they are interpreting the Scriptures correctly.  It was popularized by the books, but that doesn’t make it right.  For years, though, I struggled with how to correctly interpret the passages the rapture-believing Christian cite.  Eventually, I found an article that just made sense for me in the Lutheran Witness.

Of course, I have the same problem with this debate as I do with the Creation/Evolution one.  We can argue and argue about who’s right and who’s wrong forever.  There won’t be hard “proof” until Christians disappear or Jesus returns for all the world to see.  Discussion is good, but let’s not lose sight of the real goal: sharing Christ with others as if Jesus were coming tonight.

4 responses

  1. Darcy F

    I agree the e-mailing system is a little odd, but I believe the concept behind it is not “Oh, and I forgot to tell you…” as much as “Since you didn’t believe me before, maybe you will now?

    June 24, 2008 at 11:16 pm

  2. Jaime

    Hopefully no one leaves a message saying “Ha! Told ya!”

    That’d be mean.

    June 25, 2008 at 9:35 pm

  3. Cool post! The Pitch just did a blog covering an atheist on craigslist who is charging a $50 deposit to take care of your pets once the rapture happens. It is pretty funny, here is the link if you want to take a look…http://www.pitch.com.

    July 22, 2008 at 3:25 pm

  4. I like your ‘in case of’ note, indicating you’re living a godly life. You may be interested that I’ve just put out the prototype of a book on the rapture at http://www.blurb.com. You can review part of it by going to the bookstore and typing in rapture. It is a bit lengthy (and therefore pricey) but it shows how the key Scripture for the rapture is in 2 Timothy, the meaning of which has been lost since the third century when the writer of the Egerton papyrus indicated that he (or she) knew that the most important part of the rapture would be that it would substantiate the resurrection of Jesus.

    August 28, 2008 at 1:52 pm

Leave a Reply

