Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Firefox 3 Released and Why I Like It

Firefox 3 Download Day Certificate

Firefox 3.0 has been released.  I participated in the attempt to set a World Record for downloading software when it came out. 

Pastor asked me what the big deal was about Firefox.  I like the ‘Fox for several reasons, but mostly because of the ability to add features to the browser through their Add-Ons feature.  Here are some of my favorites:

  • Adblock Plus and Adblock Filterset.G Updater: Cut the ads out of surfing the web.
  • All-in-One-Sidebar: Adds a sidebar with your bookmarks, extensions, downloads, history and more.  Gives me quick access to the stuff I need.  It also can load web pages in the sidebar, which can be handy in some instances.
  • Greasemonkey: This allows you to install scripts to change the way web pages load.  I like userscripts.org for finding good ones.  This is required for the “Better” extensions (see next bullet).
  • “Better” Extensions: Gmail, Calendar, Reader.  These combine some of the best Greasemonkey scripts around into a single extension.  Choose which ones you want to load with simple check-boxes.
  • Customize Google: Uh… It customizes Google…
  • DragDropUpload: Makes attaching files easier by allowing you to drag a file into the text box.
  • Notifiers: Gmail, Reader, Calendar, Yahoo.  These check for new messages and appointments.  Clicking an icon at the bottom of the window sends me right to each of those services to read anything new that comes in.
  • GTD Inbox: I use this for task management and better control of my gmail account.  Worth it just for the label enhancements.
  • IE Tab: Occasionally, I’ll run across a web page that doesn’t load right in Firefox.  This is a holdover from the days when Internet Explorer ruled the web and convinced people to use non-standard code for web pages.  It’s becoming less and less of a problem these days, but still handy to have.
  • Foxmarks: Synchronizes bookmarks across computers.  I use it to keep my bookmarks identical between my home PC and the laptop I use at work, plus any workstations at First Trinity that I sign into on a regular basis.
  • Locationbar 2: Jazzes up how the website address looks in your address bar at the top of the page.  I like it because it helps me identify website that might be fraudulent and generally makes the site address more readable.
  • Mouse Gestures Redox: The official Add-ons site doesn’t carry the newest version yet, but there is a compatible version linked above.  This allows you to do common tasks by “drawing” on the screen while holding the right mouse button down.  Forward, Back, New Tab, Close Tab, Next Tab Right/Left are just some of my favorite gestures.
  • Tab Mix Plus: Adds some nice features to the tabbed browsing.
  • Xoopit: New to me, thanks to Lifehacker.  You’ll need their invite code in order to get into the beta.  This searches your gmail account for pics/files/video links and then displays them visually for you to quickly scan for the one you need.  So far, I really like it.

Any you use that I should know about?

2 responses

  1. Ares

    Did you already know that it is not recommend to use Filterset.G with Adblock Plus any more? See here what the dev writes about it: http://adblockplus.org/en/faq_project#filterset.g

    Moreover, it hasn’t been updated since March – it’s kind of outdated.

    As a replacement I would recommend that you give EasyList+EasyElement a try, you won’t regret it. 😀

    Ares

    June 19, 2008 at 2:52 pm

  2. I’ll give it a shot, thanks for sharing!

    June 19, 2008 at 5:25 pm

Leave a Reply

