Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Chipping In

I played in the Seminary Golf Tournament yesterday.  I love playing in fundraiser tournaments because you use scramble rules.  That means everyone shoots from the same spot every shot.  You take the best of the 4 balls and everyone moves there for the next shot.  I golfed with Bruce and Bill from church and John, who helps support seminarians through the food pantry at the Seminary.

I told Bruce, my cart-buddy, as we were getting started that I felt it would be a good day if I had 5 shots that were usable by the team.  I got to 4 rather quickly, then stalled for a while.  As it happens, there was a camera crew on hand for my 5th usable shot:

Ok, maybe it wasn’t quite that dramatic, but it was pretty awesome.  I chipped in a birdie from about 15 yards away, the first time I’ve ever gotten the ball in the cup from off the green.  It felt pretty good.  🙂

I ended with 7 or 8 usable shots, a little more than 10% of our total shots used (68 ) for the day, plus I had a few more that were pretty good, but we decided to use another ball that was a little closer.  After finishing the round, we enjoyed a nice dinner and then headed home.

3 responses

  1. Janet Christ

    Hey Jason
    for a minute I thought that was you… until he took his hat off and I saw all the hair. LOL Glad you had a good time. It is those amazing shots that keep us coming back for more golf. Maybe it is God’s amazing love that keeps us coming back for more too.
    Love you
    Mom

    June 3, 2008 at 12:45 pm

  2. If I could make a shot like that one, I’d probably be golfing for a living. 🙂 We should schedule another golf day soon.

    June 3, 2008 at 3:23 pm

  3. Tim

    Nice job! Take the time to get a round or two in from time to time.

    June 3, 2008 at 7:52 pm

Leave a Reply

