Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Lord Caspian

As expected, the sound was just OK last night at the movie.  People kept turning on their cars, lights would start blinking, and random other distractions (such as the bats) kept happening.  That said, I can’t blame all of that for the movie’s poor performance. 

I think I was expecting something better after the first movie.  The first one really captures the imagination and stirs the heart.  It felt much more epic.  This one felt like they were in it to make a buck.  I didn’t hate the movie, but it just seemed they could have done better.  As a result, I have no choice but to demote the Prince to a mere Lord. 

2 responses

  1. Eric F

    Okay…for the record, the sound is better when you are actually sitting IN your car. I apoloigize that our van did not have speakers in the tailgate…I was trying not to block the sound for the two of you (wanted you to be able to hear).

    On the movie…I’m leaving the jury out until I can see it again. I was far too distracted by the drastic departure from the chonology of the book (and radio series the boys listen to on CD!) The basic – and I mean basic – story was still the same, but in itself is not as Epic as “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe”. Additionally, the book as written poses some big challenges for screen adaptation.

    I don’t know that they (the movie-makers) were “just out to make a buck” – although that’s always a part of the reason for making a movie – as they are people who love and respect the books. Douglas Greshim (Exec. Producer) is, after all, C.S. Lewis’ stepson.

    That being said, the first movie set a pretty high bar. Did this one hit it? It may be difficult to say. I think I’m waiting to see what they do with “Voyage of the Dawn Treader” (next book in the series). That will be the tell-tale in my book.

    May 18, 2008 at 3:55 pm

  2. Being in the car would help, but then you lose the ambiance of being outside. 🙂

    I noticed someone had a boom box for sound so they could sit outside. I might try that next time. Or, it appears that there may be plugs to use, in which case I can bring my Bose speakers along and use those. It also didn’t help being at the screen right by the road where we could hear the cars/trucks driving by all through the movie.

    I’ll probably give it one more shot with some added sound equipment, possibly even a portable radio w/ head phones (that double as ear muffs!) to see what happens.

    May 18, 2008 at 4:20 pm

Leave a Reply

