Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Drive-Caspian

I am at the Transit Drive-In waiting for Prince Caspian to start, blogging on the free wireless connection they provide.  I must admit, this is definitely a point in favor of the Drive-In experience.  I’m still not convinced this is better than the actual theater experience, at least at a good theater that doesn’t charge $12/ticket, but this is a pleasant development.  The picture/sound are always going to be a challenge compared to the theater, so Drive-Ins need to concentrate on the experience they can provide over your local Regal or CineMark.  If I were in charge, I would add the following:

  • A nicer cafe type thing with outdoor seating under a big pavilion in case it rains.
  • Built-in barbecue pits to grill out.
  • Make the putt-putt free.  There’s virtually no maintenance costs once its in, so make that a marketing point.
  • Special headphones with better sound.  Free or pay an extra couple bucks for them.  Get some system where you could give higher quality sound than the car-speakers provide.  Quality headphones would be expensive, but could provide a better sound experience than the theater with the right technology.
  • Free pop-corn if it rains. 
  • More green space with volleyball nets, picnic tables and maybe some basketball hoops.
7 responses

  1. Jaime

    Good ideas. Drive-ins are awesome in general, though. The fresh air, the stars, the community feel…

    of course, there aren’t bats at regular theaters, which is a plus for them.

    May 16, 2008 at 10:58 pm

  2. Darcy F

    You didn’t think the bats added character? Obviously you didn’t have one of those rinky dink theatres that we had in our college town. Pretty sure they DID have bats! So, what did you think of the MOVIE?

    May 17, 2008 at 12:03 am

  3. Chuck Whited

    First, how was the movie? Second, who doesn’t like bats? Be a man – a batman. I love drive-ins. I don’t even silence my cell phone. They are great family experiences.

    May 17, 2008 at 8:43 am

  4. Pat

    I love the drive-in too. We make a point of going at least once or twice over the summer. That said, I have to confess that last night we were on our way up Transit in Lockport heading to one of our favorite BBQ spots for dinner (One Eyed Jacks). I noticed that the drive-in was already open and cars were just starting to head in. I then made a point of commenting on what kind of “nut case” would be going to the drive-in this time of year. Evenings are still too cool to enjoy the experience.
    Well, guess I have my answer- don’t I 🙂

    I like your drive-in improvement ideas!

    May 17, 2008 at 1:23 pm

  5. Kathy

    I have to say that I’ve been to many movies at the Drive-In and I have never seen bats there – are you sure they weren’t very large mosquitoes?

    I also don’t silence my cell phone at movies – just at church!

    May 17, 2008 at 3:07 pm

  6. Jaime

    Pat, it sure was cold… we had that chilled-to-the-bone feeling long after we got home. But we layered well and had blankets, so it was fun.

    Kathy, if they were mosquitos, they were the loud, SONAR-using kind. Chirp, chirp, chirp.

    May 17, 2008 at 3:43 pm

  7. Hey, Pat–I love One Eyed Jack’s, too!!

    May 18, 2008 at 8:29 pm

Leave a Reply

