Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Close, But No Cigar

Well, my first pick for American Idol didn’t win, but I feel good picking someone who at least made it into the top three.  Syesha picked up her game a bit too late to overcome the lead the Davids had on her.  I still like her, but it was the right decision.

Our last update on Fantasy Idol before the final show:

  1. MomH (56)
    Jaime (56)
    Annie (56)
  2. Karen (43)
  3. Alicia (38)
    Sue (38)
  4. Kathy (36)
  5. Jason (34)
  6. Tracy (29)

So Annie and Jaime’s hopes ride with David Cook.  If Cook wins Idol, Annie and Jaime win our first Fantasy Idol competition.  If Archuleta wins, it’s a tie.

4 responses

  1. MomH

    I’m willing to take the loss; I’m voting for Cook

    May 15, 2008 at 6:43 pm

  2. Alicia Z

    I will be on vacation for the final show. I think it comes down to whether the country wants another “crooner” or another “rocker.” I, of course, would choose the “rocker.” Plus, I can’t stand to see Archeleta breathing through his nose and having his nostrils flare out. It REALLY annoys me. AND David Cook said that he loves words and word puzzles. A man after my own heart. He’s smarter than anyone knows, he’s kind of cute in his own way, and he can sing.

    May 16, 2008 at 8:25 am

  3. And he likes Switchfoot. Can’t go wrong with that. Cook should win because he’d be the better idol in terms of record sales. Archuleta would lose a lot of his charm when you’re just listening to a CD. Without the live performances, David A. is just ok for me.

    May 16, 2008 at 9:24 am

  4. Jaime

    I think Cook should win as well. While Archie has a really sweet voice, most of his charm comes from his youth and “aw-shucks” personality. There are lots of Idol winners who have a great personality or story, but translating that to record sales doesn’t always work (Fantasia, Taylor Hicks, Ruben Studdard). Don’t get me wrong; I could see myself listening to an Archie ballad now and then. But I don’t think he has the versatility that Cook has… and I could definitely see DC on the radio.

    Plus, if Cook wins, I win. So go me! 😉

    May 16, 2008 at 12:54 pm

Leave a Reply

