Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Sunny Days, Keeping The Clouds Away

It’s beautiful outside. I know that because I have an office with a window now. I’ve nearly completed the move to my new office between Sue and Pastor Chuck. I really like the setup, but as I feared, sunny days carry with them a slight problem, most notably in the late afternoon. The sun is streaming in on my monitors, causing awful glare. I’m willing to live with it, of course. I just need to get used to it.

Jason’s New Office

Tim was kind enough to buy me a writing desk so I have a flat surface to pile things on. Alicia doesn’t think I can keep it clean until she returns from vacation on Tuesday, May 20th. I’ll show her! I pledge to wait until May 21 to start messing up this office! 🙂

I’m now accepting ideas for creative decorations for the office.  If you have a good one, send it along!

9 responses

  1. Umm, unless you are talking about another Alicia we are not going to be back until Tuesday, May 27th.

    If you want some photos to decorate your office I know an awesome amateur photographer who would let you use his work for free…

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/wnywaterfallers

    May 9, 2008 at 4:50 pm

  2. Jaime

    Isn’t it “sweeping the clouds away?”

    May 9, 2008 at 5:44 pm

  3. alicia z

    We won’t be back until the 27th, so GOOD LUCK with keeping your office clean for that extra week. And it’s kind of not fair since you are living out of TWO offices and your junk cannot be contained in ONE office! haha ALSO, the most obvious solution for your monitor problem is to put them on the desk that is behind you. Yes, your back would be to the hallway, but how many people really care about that anyway? It’s a distraction looking out either way, so look out the window way–you’ve wanted one for long enough, now you have one–enjoy the view.

    May 9, 2008 at 8:31 pm

  4. Ugh, an extra week? I shall not relent! I can make it until then as well. I’ll just put in for some vacation time. 🙂

    The problem with looking out the window is that then the blinding sun is in my face. And people would always be sneaking up on me. Hrmm…. what is a man with a window to do?

    May 9, 2008 at 10:34 pm

  5. Tim

    Use the blinds! Be careful what you ask for. What you see is what you get. I’m ;looking forward to my glare free, internal office, warm office – (mine originally) 🙂

    May 9, 2008 at 10:39 pm

  6. Jaime

    Jason, maybe you should face the windows and get a rear-view mirror so that you can make eye contact with anyone who comes in. 🙂

    May 10, 2008 at 7:50 am

  7. Chuck Whited

    Is your office outside? That’s what the picture says.

    May 10, 2008 at 8:15 am

  8. Kathy

    Jason, did you forget my suggestion of putting your desk by the door, facing Pastor’s office? There would be no glare, no sneaking up on you and you can enjoy the view.

    May 10, 2008 at 12:16 pm

  9. Pingback: Swingin’ On the Cheerios « Intersections

Leave a Reply

