Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Earth’s Other Moons

A story on Slashdot suggests the Earth may have had multiple moons at some point.  Like billions of years ago.  It made me think about evolution and why people believe it to be true.

The idea of Evolution, that we are the result of billions of years of development, seems ridiculous to me.  It makes us seem so insignificant in the grand scheme of things.  Yet at the same time, perhaps the evolutionists are also seeking some larger purpose or power in this life.  We are the culmination of cosmic forces interacting with each other, something that we had no control over yet created us, if in a different sense than the Bible uses the word.

As a Christian, I came to believe in the 6 days of creation not because of scientific reasons, but religious ones.  I came to a point in my walk with Christ that I had to accept that the Scriptures were entirely accurate, or they weren’t.  I was convinced they were and accepted the Bible’s account of creation.  It’s not the science that convinced me, but the Holy Spirit.

Now, I’m thankful for the science behind Creationism.  I think its important.  But I don’t think it will persuade people to accept the Bible’s account.  Only the Holy Spirit can do that.

7 responses

  1. Alicia Z

    Well, you have to believe something that explains dinosaurs, right? I think that there are just some things we will never know the answers to until we get to heaven for the specific reason that God doesn’t want people to know. There has to be room for other possibilities. To think that as humans WE must have all the answers is very dangerous and haughty. If it’s a stumbling block to faith (especially bringing new people to faith), we should just say that God knows the answers, and bring the focus back where it belongs–on Jesus’ work on the cross and God’s love for us.

    May 8, 2008 at 2:51 pm

  2. Thanks for the comment, Alicia!

    I believe the creation account explains dinosaurs. The Bible doesn’t tell us why they went extinct, but I believe they made it to the Ark. We have found remains of dinosaurs, so God must have created them. The problem is that our dating methods are inaccurate so it appears to be from much longer ago than it really was.

    I certainly don’t have all the answers, nor can we ever have all the answers. That’s why I consider this question a matter of faith, not science. Evolutionists have just as much (if not more) faith in their belief as Creationists do in theirs. I trust God when He says He made everything.

    May 8, 2008 at 3:03 pm

  3. Jaime

    I think we as Christians need to choose our words carefully in these discussions… especially since, in many ways, you two aren’t that far off. Alicia says that God knows the answers, and the focus belongs on Jesus, the cross, and God’s love. YES! Jason says that the bible is entirely accurate, and that he trusts God when He says he made everything. YES AGAIN! Nothing haughty about either of those awesome, God-revealed statements.

    Our focus needs to be, constantly, on God as he reveals himself to us in scriptures — through creation, through the cross, and through the tomb. It is all one great and inseparable love story. We may not have every detail, and some of the details we do have may seem confusing, but we can trust the ones he gave us as true, and trust Him to fill us in on the rest someday.

    The God of creation, the God of the cross, the God of love. He is all this and more.

    May 9, 2008 at 7:54 am

  4. Jaime

    PS: I wish my smiley-face icon didn’t look like the hulk with a unibrow. Gotta figure out how to change that. 😉

    May 9, 2008 at 7:55 am

  5. The icons are picked at random from the “Wavatar” set of icons. I can change it to monsters or symbols, or you can create a wordpress account and upload an image of your choosing. 🙂

    May 9, 2008 at 9:22 am

  6. alicia z

    I absolutely believe that God created everything–it’s the timing that I have issues with. I don’t think the dinosaurs could’ve fit on the ark, but maybe I just can’t picture all the cubits together! And I also believe that there IS evolution–to a degree. When a species is having trouble with a change in its surroundings, it changes–evolves, to adapt to the new environment. I certainly don’t believe in monkeys becoming people or amoebas eventually becoming people. Now THAT is just silly.

    May 9, 2008 at 8:24 pm

  7. Pingback: In Case of Rapture, This Blog Will Be Unmanned « Intersections

Leave a Reply

