Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Diggin’ the Digsby

The Short:  Digsby is cool, come to my “Parenting the Internet Generation” class.  Tuesday, April 22, 2008 at 7 p.m @ First Trinity Lutheran Church.

The Not-As-Short-But-Worth-Reading-Anyway:  My history with Instant Messaging has been pretty spotty.  I first got into it in college with ICQ.  ICQ assigned numbers to each person that registered.  I always felt good about my 1,217,861 number.  It’s unclear if they started at 1, but there are some 109,xxx numbers.  I just signed up to see where they were at now: 435,231,825.  That’s 434 million accounts created since I first signed up.  Wow.

ICQ was eventually purchased and far surpassed by AOL’s Instant Messenger (AIM).  I never cared for AIM much, but I signed up (jasonthedce) anyway.  Next was Yahoo!, MSN, Google Talk, Jabber and more.  Eventually I fell out of the IM thing because it was just too hard to manage so many accounts and there was never a clear winner.

Trillian was my first experience with a software that could handle all of those services and more.  I got back into it for a while, then quit because the software was too slow for my liking and it was becoming a productivity drain at the office.  About 2 months ago, I decided to get serious about IM again since so many of our youth use it, but what software to use?

Enter Digsby, a multi-service IM client, but with an added bonus: It also tracks Facebook, Gmail (and other web email solutions), MySpace and Twitter. After running it for about 3 weeks, I’d highly recommend it if you’re into chatting with people. 

If none of this makes sense, you need to come to my class on Tuesday titled “Parenting the Internet Generation.”  I’ve mentioned it once or twice in the past…

3 responses

  1. Eric F

    Okay…not that this really has anything to do with Digsby, but you mentioned Jabber in your blog and I happen to have known the creator of Jabber (one of them, anyway)

    See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Millard

    Peter was the son of one of my mom’s really close friends. A music teacher, she used to give me lessons on the French Horn and I would see Peter regularly. I went with his sister to her Senior Prom – she was a year ahead of me – and Darcy and I both had the opportunity to work with him in “Footsteps” – a youth retreat weekend run for teens by teens with the purpose of allowing them to experience God’s love in a very real and tangible way. I don’t know that he was a close friend, but he was certainly more than an acquaintance.

    It was really weird (and kind of hard) to follow Peter’s illness and attend his memorial service nearly two years ago. He was younger than me, and that just kind of played with my brain. It’s still a bit surreal.

    Needless to say, to find him on Wikipedia is just about as strange…never really knew that I knew a “celebrity”! I knew he did computer stuff but didn’t know about Jabber until the Memorial service (and even then, only a hint that he had been one of the creators). A quick search came up with the above address.

    Like I said, not really anything to do with Digsby, but turned into an interesting little “small world” thing.

    April 17, 2008 at 9:50 pm

  2. That is interesting.

    As I understand the history, it was Jabber that really started the movement to open up the IM Networks. So far, it hasn’t caught on much, though Google Talk is built on top of Jabber I believe. I’m still hoping for the day when they have OpenIM or something and I can use any one client (be it AIM, Yahoo!, Talk) to connect to all services through a single account.

    April 18, 2008 at 2:52 pm

  3. Eric F

    Yeah…that sounds about right. Peter was not really the kind of guy to create something exclusive. From what was said at the memorial service, he didn’t really like AIM and the others that were around at the time – so he made his own. I have a feeling that the intercompatibility was part of his grand vision. Possible that the tools weren’t there at the time to really make it work well – I can kind of see Peter being the guy who brought it together had God allowed him to live longer. But God know’s what he’s doing.

    Unfortunately, that means we all have to wait to have a universal client 🙂 A modern day Tower of Babel???

    April 18, 2008 at 9:12 pm

Leave a Reply

