Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Gifted

I’ve said it before.  I think our youth are super talented.  Two examples this evening:

  1.  I just got home from a coffee house at the corner of Clarence Center and Goodrich.  It was a cozy little joint with a homey atmosphere.  I was there to see Lauren’s artwork.  Tonight was her senior art show at the coffee house.  I’m not a great judge of art, but even I know that this was good stuff.  Cindy took me around to show me all the pieces, beaming the whole time as proud mothers do.  It’s going to be there for a few weeks, so if you are out that way (or fancy a quaint little coffee shop), be sure to stop by and check out Lauren’s Work.  (We’ll also have some at the Spaghetti dinner on April 11)
  2. Tonight was opening night for the Kenmore Middle School musical, School House Rock.  Annie and Jennie are the leads.  I’ll be there on Saturday evening for the show.  Annie sings with our band on Sunday morning, and they’ve done a duet together for our Christmas program one year.  I’m sure it will rock the house (poor pun intended).  Tickets are $5, available at the door, if you’d like to see it.

I love seeing our youth explore their God-given talents and grow into the young men and women God wants them to be.  One day, I’d love to see a ministry at First Trinity that would help youth develop their talents and use them in worship and ministry amongst us.  My first goal (a big leap!) is to find a college student willing to organize a youth band for Sunday mornings at Sunday School and occasionally at worship.  I just need $5,000 and the right person.  I’m praying God drops something in my lap.  🙂  Now I’m wondering if I need to also look at starting an art school…

4 responses

  1. Joe Z

    No pitch for the Crossroads talent show on Friday?

    😦

    April 4, 2008 at 2:06 pm

  2. I did. “We’ll also have some at the Spaghetti dinner on April 11.” Maybe I should have been more explicit.

    April 4, 2008 at 2:13 pm

  3. Joe Z

    Hmm, I was looking for it and still missed it. Maybe a separate post and/or FT news email? Would be a good opportunity for folks to see all kinds of talents in our own church.

    April 4, 2008 at 3:12 pm

  4. Eric F

    We do have some very talented youth in this church. It’s been great to see them use their talent in worship with the bands, and to also see them outside the band in school musicals, etc. I enjoy the spirit that the youth bring to our ministries and their willingness to serve the church in many areas (Bands, tech teams, VBS, ushering, etc.)

    $5K is a pretty cheap college student 🙂

    In regards to ministries that help youth develop their talents…I think we have several already. Obviously, we have youth in the bands and tech teams. Youth have been used at special events (the Sader coming up this weekend, National Day of Prayer services, VBS) and I see many serving as ushers and, of course, acolytes in our worship services (okay, so it’s for Conerstone service hours…they’re still doing it!) We’ve had youth in our choir and bell choir as well. I’m sure I’m missing something…

    I think many of our ministry leaders are willing and even able to work with youth who are gifted in their area of ministry. We just need to get the communication lines open to connect those youth with the ministries and give the ministry leaders the time and resources they need to develope those who minister with them.

    As for me, it is a pleasure to include, work with, and work towards training young people in worship leadership!

    April 4, 2008 at 9:41 pm

Leave a Reply

