Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Fantasy Idol

I raced home from my meeting this evening so I could see the last hour and a half of American Idol. I ended up seeing both of the guys that I really like. David Archuleta and Michael Johns are my favorites from the guys. Michael just looks like a star and David is too darn cute. The shy-guy thing and humbleness are great to see in an AI contestant. My predictions for who goes home: Luke Menard and Garrett Haley.

Starting with the Top 10 guys and girls, I’m going to run a “Fantasy Idol” league.  You can pick 3 girls and 3 guys as your “team” of idols.  Each week they progress, you get 1 point per idol.  You can leave your picks in the comments on this post, tomorrow’s AI post, or Thursday’s.  You can also email them to me directly (jasonthedce AT gmail DOT com).  On Monday of next week, I’ll post the picks for those who are participating and then post scores each Friday or Saturday.

8 responses

  1. Tim

    Who’s your target audience?

    February 20, 2008 at 11:05 pm

  2. For Fantasy Idol? Anyone who wants to play. Pratically speaking, that probably means the people who read this blog.

    February 21, 2008 at 3:02 pm

  3. Tracy

    I’m in for Fantasy Idol! I have to finish watching the night of girls to give you my 3 picks.

    February 23, 2008 at 11:24 am

  4. Jaime

    I’m soooo in. I’m already scouting for my team.

    February 23, 2008 at 1:40 pm

  5. sweetsoup

    My top three guys:
    David Hernandez
    Chikeezi
    David Archuleta

    I may have to go for the top three girls from last week because I’ll be at my brother’s house tomorrow night and I don’t think they are AI fans…

    February 26, 2008 at 10:32 pm

  6. Jaime

    A few resources:

    http://www.dialidol.com — idol voters use a special computer program that compiles the data and measures the percentage of busy signals for each voter. After each competition night, it gives a prediction (fairly accurate) of who is likely to go home. It’s definitely not a “sure thing” though.

    http://www.votefortheworst.com — an anti-idol website that strives to keep people who aren’t as good, for the purposes of screwing up American Idol. It seems to have lost a lot of momentum since its been going for several seasons, and lots of the haters have moved on… but it could influence votes.

    The forums at americanidol.com (under “community”)… in the General Discussion forum, they have started taking informal polls on different aspects of the contestants’ performance (song choice, fashion, etc) and giving them composite scores.

    Good luck, y’all. Game on! I’ve chosen David Archuleta, David Cook and Michale Johns for the guys, and Syesha Mercado, Carly Smithson and Kristy Lee Cook for the girls (not necessarily my favorites, but my predictions). DialIdol shows Syesha in the bottom three, though, so hopefully I won’t lose from the first round. 😉

    Game on!

    February 28, 2008 at 8:07 am

  7. MomH

    GUYS:
    David Archuleta
    Michael Johns
    Jason Castro – It’s close but I personally like Jason as #2 but think Michael is a better singer and will go farther

    GIRLS:
    Brooke White
    Carly Smithson
    Syesha Mercado

    February 28, 2008 at 5:34 pm

  8. Pingback: Idol Wrap-up « Intersections

Leave a Reply

