Walking the line between nerd and cool.

T Minus 10 Hours

We are now approximately 10 Hours from the doors opening for the Jesus Painter event.  After Cornerstone last night, I helped finish setting up chairs in the balcony.  We’ll have 500+ people there for the event as we’ve sold all but 8 tickets as of this morning, which should be gone in no time.  I’m getting excited!

Some of you know that I’ve been on a quest for the perfect look for the event as I’ll be on stage.  It’s part of the new “cool” Jason.  With my taped glasses and Adidas Samba Classics, I was leaning too close to the “nerd” side of the line.  With some help from my wife and friends, here’s what to expect:

  • New Kicks: Phil says I can call my new shoes Kicks.  Jennie confirms that’s “cool”.  I’ve needed new brown dress shoes for a while now.  These are a nice cross between dressy and tenni.  I asked Jaime if I could wear them at church.  After hesitating, I answered for her: “I can wear them at First Trinity but not at other churches?”  Hit the nail on the head.  Just one of the reasons I love our church.  We like cool Kicks.
  • New Bends: My follow up question to Jennie was if I could call my new pants new legs.  She laughed and said no.  That’s like saying new feet, and that’s definitely not cool.  She suggested Bends.  Jaime didn’t like it because it’s a nickname for an illness that scuba divers get.  Using it anyway.  🙂  Per many suggestions, I ended up at Macy’s, promptly gagged at some of the prices, headed for the clearance rack, and got a $48 pair of Levi’s for $25.
  • New Eyes: Yes, it’s only been 11 weeks with taped glasses.  My how the time flies!  Lots of compliments on the new look.  They’re are a nice evolution from my old glasses.  A new look, but somehow familiar.  Pictures coming when I get some.  I also got prescription sunglasses.  We’ll see how that works out for me.
4 responses

  1. sweetsoup

    LOL! Ah…my perfectly Cool/Nerd teammate–I am so looking forward to tonight. Great teaching last night, lots of time on the ground this week. I’m praying for your leadership and TONS of joy as a dream comes to life! I’m also feeling grateful for the life of Mike Hangen, today.

    February 8, 2008 at 11:37 am

  2. Tracy

    Who was that hip guy on stage last night? At first I thought it was Howie from Deal or No Deal, then maybe Bruce Willis…
    Nice job MCins…
    Tracy

    February 9, 2008 at 9:14 am

  3. Tim

    Jason, The whole evening was truly wonderful. The painter was amazing, the musicians were awesome and the MC (that’s Master of Ceremonies, not Ministry Council) was terrific!! He had us spellbound.

    February 9, 2008 at 11:53 am

  4. Kim

    ROAR! I’ve gotten a little behind on my blog reading, and didn‘t see this until now. I was chatting with your wife tonight. Basically, I was (she didn’t even prompt the conversation) telling her how your coolness on Friday encouraged me to step it up a notch and to finally get some of those flat sneakers. Since I just read this entry, I was hardly prepared that you were going to be a cool trendsetter… bahhhh… I am sheep… follow Jason… What’s next?!? I’ll never take the tape off of my glasses :o) Maybe I’ll add tape around my new kicks. I loved you sharing Jesus with us. Thank you, you’re such a blessing!

    February 12, 2008 at 12:01 am

Leave a Reply

