Walking the line between nerd and cool.

30 Days With The Word of God

My last post about Adobe InDesign was rooted in this post. I spent the better part of yesterday and today getting the post-famine devotional booklet done so that we can run it off and bind it next week. I wanted it to look really cool, thus my venture into professional level design software, but that didn’t work out so well. So instead, it was back to my faithful Microsoft Publisher for the layout.

Download a copy and check out the (almost) final product. If you have ideas for better questions send them along. If you have design expertise and want to re-do the whole thing, I’d be happy to forward along the text for cut and paste goodness! 🙂

In other random news, it took me about 3 minutes of actual writing time to write this post. During that time, I’ve had two different people ring the doorbell here at church. One had a car that wouldn’t start (got it to go, wasn’t all the way in park…) and one that showed up for the basketball game that started 3 hours ago and now is waiting for a ride home… Weird…

4 responses

  1. Darcy F

    Checked it out – looks pretty cool, for Publisher! 😉

    Just can’t figure out what that block graphic is supposed to be??

    February 1, 2008 at 10:31 pm

  2. Tim

    It sure impresses me! I say go with it. Will there be extra copies?

    February 2, 2008 at 4:22 pm

  3. The block graphic is just a standard Publisher sidebar for use with headers.

    I can make extra copies available afterwards, but probably in black and white instead of the color front cover the youth will receive. Don’t want our Mom to get stressed at the color copy count… 🙂

    February 2, 2008 at 6:45 pm

  4. Christi Gaertner

    Never ask me to look at something unless you want me to be an editor! I’ve proofed lots of work for friends and it’s sort of a hobby of mine.

    The day of Job 23:12 needs another quotation mark somewhere.

    Otherwise, it looks really spiffy. How are we going to top this famine next year? It’s shaping up so wonderfully.

    February 4, 2008 at 9:06 pm

Leave a Reply

