Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Selfless Living

I lost fantasy football playoff match this past weekend thanks to poor performances from of my best scorers. Tom Brady scored 3 points for me, down from an average of 25 this season. Kellen Winslow gave me 2 points, down from 10. Marshawn Lynch of the hometown Bills gave me 8 points, but I’ve come to expect about 15 from him. As bad as it was to lose because of a poor week, I’d hate to lose by 5 or fewer points and have Brian Westbrook.

Westbrook is the star running back for the Philadelphia Eagles. With about 2:30 left in the game, he broke a run outside with a clear path to the end zone. He ran to the one yard line and downed himself without scoring a touchdown. Why? The Dallas Cowboys had no timeouts left, and Westbrook knew that the Eagles could kneel down three times and run out the clock for the sure win. If he scores, Dallas gets the ball with a chance to score, kick an onsides kick, recover and score again. It’s a farfetched scenario, but it’s possible. Instead of padding his stats (and giving 6 points or more to his fantasy owners), he put the team over his own glory.

As Christians, we are called to a selfless living for others.

Matthew 16:24-25
24
Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 25 For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it.

Leave a Reply

