Walking the line between nerd and cool.

Staying Connected

I was directed to a blog entry by Craig Groeschel through Church Relevance about success in ministry.  He wrote:

You are successful because of who you are in Christ. You please God by obeying him, not performing up to your personal expectations.

It reminded me of my confirmation verse:

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.   John 15:5

I recently told our Crossroads youth the story behind my confirmation verse.  The short version, in bullet format:

  • I chose the verse in 8th grade because I had to choose one to get confirmed.  I don’t remember caring about it then.
  • Eight years later, it just so happened that the assigned reading from the lectionary for the week I was installed as DCE at my first congregation was John 15:5.
  • Five years later, it was the appointed reading for the Sunday I was installed at my second congregation.
  • A year and a half later, I wised up and suggested it as the text for my installation at First Trinity.

It’s been a great reminder to me that my success in ministry is not dependent on how, but who.  It’s found in staying connected to Jesus, the vine–not how well I teach, lead, plan or play.  As the old adage goes, “It’s not what you know, but who you know.”

Leave a Reply

