Walking the line between nerd and cool.

A.D. 2040

I’m a firm believer in the power of the Call process in the Lutheran Church. As I reflect on my professional ministry life, I can see God’s leading as Jaime and I have trusted Him to take us where he wants us. I started at Memorial Lutheran in Katy, TX as an intern in 1999. After five wonderful years there, I accepted a Call to Valley Lutheran in Chagrin Falls, OH. I didn’t realize how much I needed the change until about a month after leaving Memorial. It had been a tough go for the previous two years of my ministry, and I needed the change in scenery to heal from some of my experiences there.

While at Valley, it was through my involvement with KINDLE, an organization dedicated to fostering and multiplying servant leaders, that I met Sue and ended up on the Call List for First Trinity. Since coming here, I have been blessed to be a part of some awesome ministry, with great people and dynamic ministry team. And all of it came to me as God directed, never once putting my name on out to a church looking for a position.

Earlier this month marked my two-year anniversary at First Trinity. It feels like two-weeks in some ways as the time has flown by, but in other ways it feels like two decades as we have been integrated into this community of believers in a remarkably short period of time. God knew all the blessings that would come in these two short years when He brought me here, for which I’m thankful.

This past weekend was Ruth’s 35th Anniversary celebration. It was a great time as we gathered together as a community of believers across multiple churches to celebrate God’s work through Ruth and the special gift that she is to us. If God wills it, I’ll be celebrating my 35th year at First Trinity in A.D. 2040. It staggers my mind to think about that possibility, but it’s exciting!

Leave a Reply

