Walking the line between nerd and cool.

A Seeking Heart

I’ve written about how much I love our youth in the past.  I’ll probably write about it again in the future.  It’s a real joy to work with them.  I often hear from people about how they could never do my job.  A number of them fear for their lives around youth.  Some of them just don’t understand youth.  Others think youth do stupid things and don’t care about anything spiritual.  I guess it’s just an example of everyone having different gifts.

Well, I’m thankful (and I think many others are as well) that I enjoy working with youth.  One of the highlights of my ministry is teaching Confirmation.  Many people, including Lutheran Church Workers, hear that and think I’m crazy.  And my favorite part about Confirmation is teaching the Commandments.  For whatever reason, students connect to the Commandments in a way that really makes them think about how they are living their lives.  I had rehearsed about 15 minutes worth of teaching, which is usually about 20 minutes long when we add in student readers and jokes I don’t make during the rehearsal.  Last night at Cornerstone, we spent 45+ minutes on the teaching time because of all the questions that the students asked.  As a teacher, it’s a real joy to have so many youth seeking to know the truth of the Scriptures!

You can listen to the whole teaching time online.  Check out the Cornerstone Podcast for the audio from last night.  You can even subscribe using iTunes or your favorite RSS Reader, just like you would do for this blog.

2 responses

  1. I’ll have to check out a podcast too!

    December 1, 2007 at 10:16 pm

  2. There’s a new episode coming out this Thursday. 6th Commandment… Good stuff.

    December 2, 2007 at 2:46 pm

Leave a Reply

